Delaware Library Association

Annual Business Meeting

MLA/DLA Annual Conference

Cambridge, Maryland

Friday May 3rd, 2019

Presiding Officer: Sarah Katz, DLA President

Minutes Taken by: Adrienne Johnson, DLA Secretary

Meeting called to order at 8:07 am

1. Year in Review:

- a. DLA Community Engagement Grant three grants awarded this year; one in each county.
- b. Library Legislative Day in January and "One Ask" were successful.
- c. President's Program January webinar: Dr. Denise Agosto on "Information Literacy and Libraries in the Age of Fake News".
- d. Said goodbye to Cathay Keough (DLA Executive Director). Her absence is felt. Wish her well in her new position.
- e. Introduced incoming DLA officers: President: Alison Wessel (University of Delaware Library); Vice President/Conference Chair: Catherine Wimberley (New Castle County Libraries); Treasurer: Jaclyn Hale (Dover Public Library); Secretary: Marlowe Bogino (Department of Health and Social Services Library).
- f. Thanked outgoing officers: Joel Rudnick for his service as Treasurer: Adrienne Johnson for her service as Secretary; Michelle Hughes for her four years of service as VP/President/ Past President.

2. Conference:

- a. Alison thanked everyone for attending and provided a summary of DLA contributions: 13 workshops, film screening, keynote, silent auction.
- b. Great committee and thanks to all the volunteers for their support.
- c. ALA: looking for volunteers for exhibit hall booth hosted by DLA, MLA, DC, and VA library associations. Will send a call out for volunteers on the list serv.

Report from Joel Rudnick, DLA Treasurer:

- 1. Treasurer report submitted in advance.
- 2. Joel encouraged everyone to get involved with DLA great experience!

Business meeting adjourned 8:18 am.

Awards Ceremony followed.

- 1. Please see the following link for all of this year's award and scholarship recipients http://dla.lib.de.us/awards-citations/
 - a. Distinguished Librarian Citation: Jaye Birch
 - b. Distinguished Librarian Citation: Cathay Keough
 - c. Distinguished Service Award: Judith Taggart
 - d. Life Member Award: Theo Loppatto
 - e. Community Partnership Award: Ray Fitzgerald, Delaware Department of Health and Human Services
 - f. Delaware Library Association Citation: Sara Thomas
 - g. Helen H. Bennett Scholarship: Bonnie Brunton and Rebecca James
 - h. Charlesa Lowell Scholarship: Iliana Burgos
 - i. Grace Estelle Wheeless Scholarship: Bonnie Brunton