grantThe objective of a DLA funded grant is to provide funds that help cover library programs or exhibitions that foster a sense of community engagement, and/or present timely topics of interest in areas such as civics, humanities, pop culture, world events, literature, health, family, or other areas as deemed appropriate.


Review the GRANT APPLICANT FACT SHEET for grant requirements and application criteria.

Access the Grant Application Form

Application deadline for current awards was September 28, 2018

Check back in June 2019 for the next grant cycle.

Have questions, email AT


Community Engagement Grant 2019 Award News

On January 8, 2019, New Castle Public Library was awarded a $500 Community Engagement grant for their proposal Bike Bookmobile.  In talking with Nicole Ballance she said her inspiration for the idea came from her local park.  “There are lots of people around the library and in the nearby park all summer long, including summer camps that are nearby.  A bike bookmobile would make the library visible where the people are”.  Nicole has done a lot of research on bike bookmobiles through Facebook and social media.  As far as she’s aware, this would be the first one for Delaware.  She has been in contact with libraries that have done this and learned that it’s most cost effective to build your own.  A mountain bike has been donated to the library, and funds from the grant, plus possible support from their Friends group, will go to purchase the wood and other hardware needed to construct the book carrier.

Nicole envisions starting with children’s books, chapter books and picture books and hopes to check the items out at the park.  “A lot of this will be experimental.  We want to bring the bike bookmobile to places where people are out and about, and maybe expand this outreach to other locations if the logistics can be figured out” said Nicole.

The goal is to have the bike bookmobile ready for the Separation Day parade in June. 


Shown in photo from the left:
Cathay Keough, DLA Executive Director
Michelle Hughes, DLA Past President and Grant Coordinator
Sara Thomas, Children’s Librarian, New Castle Public Library
Nicole Ballance, Principal Library Assistant, New Castle Public Library
Julie Kirk, Director, New Castle Public Library
Sarah Katz, DLA President
Joel Rudnick, DLA Treasurer

Congratulations to the New Castle Public Library!



2018 Grant recipients